Happiness

Today on my Timehop, there were so so many prom pictures from my junior year (2 years ago). There were also pictures from my senior year band banquet (1 year ago). It got me thinking that in those pictures, I was the happiest that I had been ever.

Prom junior year was such a great night. It was spent with fantastic friends. Some of my most quotable moments happened that night. I danced my heart out (even though I can’t dance at all). I laughed until I cried at dinner before prom (with all of my prom makeup somehow staying intact). I oozed swag. I remember thinking that there was no way I would ever be happier.

IMG_1209

One of my fave pictures from prom junior year.

The band banquet last year happened the Monday after prom. It was another time that I remember thinking how happy I was and how grateful I was to be surrounded by the people I was. I was getting ready to graduate. It was my last band banquet and I spent the night in tears because of how sad I was to be leaving behind the people younger than me who meant so so much. I also cried because I was so happy that I had been fortunate enough to have experienced four years in a fantastic band program surrounded by great people. This season of my life was the happiest one to date.

IMG_1206

One of my fave pictures from prom junior year.

Looking back at those times, I am in awe that I couldn’t imagine getting happier. I have met so many people this year who genuinely brighten my day. I still value many of the people who are part of those memories. But today, May 4th, 2016, I can honestly say that I have never been happier. As I grow older, I realize that my happiness seems to increase. My youth director likes to say that the best time in your life should be the one you are in now. I truly believe that this is the case for my life. I look back fondly on those memories, but I wouldn’t go back. This time in my life and the people I have met and grown close to mean so much to me. Here’s to hoping it only goes up from here.

Leave a Reply

