Priorities and Personalities

Okay so I wrote this the other night while I was avoiding writing a paper, and I decided to post it un-edited instead of The Friday Five. Enjoy y’all!

At this moment, I am sitting in Mullins Library after showering for the night. I have been working on homework all day, yet I still have so much to do. I am currently working on starting a paper that is due Friday. It is almost Thursday. But I was thinking in the shower, and I wanted to share those thoughts with anyone who wants to read them.

I have noticed that I am having trouble prioritizing things that need to get done. I feel as if there are four different personas to Mallory. There is the Work Mallory, School Mallory, Recording Secretary Mallory, and just Mallory. Work Mallory has to actually go to work and prepare for work. She has to enter her time and reports. School Mallory has to go to class and read for class. She also has to make sure that assignments get done on time and that she is preparing for those assignments well ahead of time. Recording Secretary Mallory has been slacking – but maybe has finally caught up. She has to take attendance, or make sure it is being taken at all kinds of events. She has to remind people that they should do things so that she can do her job. RecSec Mallory has to attend office hours, exec meetings, and chapter, but also remember to actually participate in the organization. And actual just Mallory has to remember to do laundry and clip her fingernails, and make sure she is getting enough Jesus.

I have not been prioritizing these Mallory personas well. Everything that I do feels like it something that has to be done. Even reading for class, which I enjoy, feels like work. I keep forgetting to take care of myself. I know that I should go to bible study and worship services, but I have so much homework! But then I realize that I can’t get any homework done because I am restless.

I guess the point of this post is to say that I have not been taking care of myself, and I have been neglecting my relationship with God. I have been making excuses, which is unacceptable. I am making this post so that I can hold myself accountable for what is being prioritized. So maybe this didn’t make sense, but it is being written instead of paper at 11:00 PM. What did you expect?

-Mallory

Leave a Reply

